two landscapes

ImageThese two landscapes created themselves with no real end point idea in mind; I just started drawing and let them develop themselves on the page.

With “Lupines” I concentrated mostly on the clouds, and worked with a lot of gold tones and a little green. I started using some violets for shading and pretty soon I began to see lupines, so I went with that. The path just created itself as I drew. I like the visual texture of this piece, and the way the direction of the path follows the diagonal of the clouds. That was totally unplanned.

grovetrees1306

“Tree Grove has the minimalist feel I tend toward, and I love the negative white space. It reminds me of a rest stop on Interstate 5 in southern California, just north of the Grapevine, which looks nothing like this landscape, but there is something in the way the trees are clustered, and the way the mountains fold together, which reminds me of that place, which is noisy, windy, and not in any way as peaceful as this landscape.

I tend to work very light when starting out, and then do a lot of layering to create richer color. This process works well for me, as I am always looking at the overall composition, even from the outset. It’s not always successful, but usually it works well for me.

About Renee Goularte

I have returned recently to art-making after twenty years of teaching in elementary school. An art in itself....
This entry was posted in color, colored pencils, drawing, landscape, negative space, space, texture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

