cool reflections

I’m pretty sure this is my new favorite watercolor; I love the composition, love the colors, love the white space, and totally love the rocks and the gently fading purple and blue.

I painted this one afternoon during workshop time at the Paradise Art Center. The gallery there is having a June watercolor show with a “Reflections” theme, so I’ve been playing around with drips and blends and various color schemes. Lately I am very partial to this combination of Winsor Blue and Dioxazine Purple.

I started with wet on wet, holding the paper horizontally in the air, with the “horizon line” parallel to the table. Along that line I dropped on the purple and blue with my trusty #30 brush, letting the blue drip down one side and the purple drip down the other side. When the blending was done and the paint almost dry, I filled in the tree details and the negative painting for the rock shapes. And that was it! Success!

About Renee Goularte

I have returned recently to art-making after twenty years of teaching in elementary school. An art in itself....
This entry was posted in color, drawing, landscape, lines, negative space, painting, shape, space, Uncategorized, watercolor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to cool reflections

  1. Jan says:

    Renee- I LOVE this painting! The trees almost look like a negative image. I will have to try this bleeding colors wet on wet because every time you post one I am instantly drawn to it. I have seen a sophistication from your earlier pieces to the more recent ones. I love the direction you are going. What are the dimensions of this painting?

  2. This painting is 11×15.

  3. This painting is amazing. I love it!

    Thanks for explaining your process.

Leave a Reply

